Signature Series Concert - Brahms’ 1st Symphony

Saturday, Apr 10, 2021 at 7:30pm


Brahms was so intimidated by Beethoven’s shadow that he didn’t write his first symphony until he was 43 years old. In our fourth program of the season we juxtapose his most famous and popular symphony with modern talents. Jessie Montgomery’s Starburst is a fresh fanfare for strings while Bright Sheng’s Black Swan is a beautiful orchestration of one of Brahms’ most loved piano Intermezzos. The JSO is thrilled to partner with the Kosciuszko Foundation for the Wieniawski Violin Competition. The competition winner and their repertoire will be announced in December of 2020. Don’t miss out on a chance to hear classical music’s next superstar!

Preconcert Conversation at 6:30pm

Program Schedule:
Jessie Montgomery
Starburst (2012)
Jessie Montgomery is an American composer, chamber musician, and music educator. Her compositions focus on the vernacular, improvisation, language, and social justice.

Bright Sheng
Black Swan (2006)
Prelude and Black Swan - After Johannes Brahm’s Intermezzo Op. 118, No.1 And 2 was part of the Seattle Symphony Orchestra’s Farewell Commission, celebrating 26 years of brilliant artistic leadership and achievements by the orchestra’s music director, Gerard Schwarz.

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Hours: 1 Hour 45 Min

Join us for a free, interactive lecture on this evening’s featured music.